The Last Tear

Your words thrust my heart,
and I cried tears of a pain “Get out” I yelled
“These are the last tear I´ll ever cry for you”.
So you left.
I waited hours, but you didn´t return.
I cried tears of frustration.
I waited days, but you had nothing to say.
Remembering our days, I cried tears of solitude.
I waited months but you left no sign for me.

In the depths of my heart, I cried tears of despair.

How strange that all these tears could not wash away the wound!
The one thought of ecstacy pierced my bitterness.
I remembered you in the dawn,
I remembered you in the dusk
with a smile as sweet as May wine.
The tear of gratitude shimmered, and miraculously, you were back.
Soft fingers touched my cheek, and you bent over for a kiss.
“Why have you come?” I whispered
“To wipe away your last tear”, you replied.
“It was the one you saved for me”.

One thought on “The Last Tear

Leave a Reply

